Seminole Cycling Classic 2013 – Race Report

The local weather man predicted monsoon-like rain storms for FSU Cycling’s Seminole Cycling Classic in Monticello, Florida.  That didn’t stop team from all over the southeast to make the trip to Florida for the second collegiate race of the season and the first year that the Seminole Cycling Classic opened up to category as part of the Florida Ranking Series.  Even Solymar Riveria-Torres flew in to represent the new University of Puerto Rico team in their first collegiate race.

As usual, the weather man got it wrong and the road races took off relatively dry.  In the Men’s A race, a breakaway group rode away with the race and Clemson’s Alex Kellum won the sprint for the win.  Current conference leader and owner of the JAKROO leader’s jersey Rebecca Whitsitt worked over a large women’s field to win from a 8 woman breakaway late in the Women’s A race.


The Category races saw a lot of Tallahasse racers on the top spot of the podium.  In the 50+ Category, Randall Smith attempted to do a solo breakaway, however Tallahassee’s Tom Gillis from Gulf Coast Velo unleashed his mighty sprint to win the 50+ category in another late race breakaway.  John Brizzard, Bikes Plus Racing, won the Men’s 1-2 race ahead of Roly Hernandez and Kent Lofton.  Gulf Coast Velo swept the podium in the Masters 35+ race with Donny Authore taking the win over Aaron Guyer and Geoff Schaefer.  Another Tallahassee racer, Trevor Marshall out sprinted Jamey Thompson in the Cat 3/4 race.  And Brent Scarbin took an easy win the Cat 5 race.   Spaghetti 100 dirt Champion, Danielle Marrero won the Women’s race ahead of Whitsitt.


Chris Mojock & Graham Gillis driving the pace in the Mens 3-4 Crit


Rain finally started to come in during the time trials.  The University of Florida won the Men’s Team Time-Trial by 11 seconds over Cumberland University, while the King College Women edged out the Lees-McRae Women by a close 9 seconds on the 7 mile course.  Men’s conference leader and JAKROO jersey holder Spencer Oswald of Lees-McRae won an incredible ITT with the fastest time of the day (even among the teams) after racing in the Lees-McRae Team Time Trial 30 minutes earlier.  Kira Miacke of the University of Georgia won the Women’s ITT.


Sunny weather resumed for the Monticello Downtown crit.  Lees-McRae, University of Florida and Cumberland pushed the pace in the Men’s A crit to form a good size breakaway.  Zac Felpel won the final sprint and took home another win for Lees-McRae.  Kate Ross of King College won the bunch sprint in the Women’s A crit.


“Big Rig” Randall Smith succeed on his solo breakaway in the 50+ crit with Gillis taking the bunch sprint for second.  Jimmy Page rocked the Men’s 1-2 Crit in a late race breakaway.  Velobrew’s Drew Miller took the win in a 2 man breakaway with Authore in the Masters 35+ race.  Daniel Vu won the Men’s 3-4 race.  And Jason Wolfe got 1st place in the Men’s 5 race ahead of Scarbin.  15 year old Abigail Aldridge from PCP Race team took the win in the women’s race.


 Tallahassee’s new RedEye Junior Cycling Team participated in their first race with Brian Sciba, Conner Everett and Eric McNees.